Inquest

I have had the idea to work on a book for my sister who took her own life.

It has been a few years since it happened and I have amassed most of her diaries and plenty of photos. Quite a few of both have been scanned in to a computer for me to use on this project.

What pushed the idea to the front of my mind recently was publishing my own poetry and realising that the challenge will be in doing justice to my sister rather than getting the work published.

I have started in the only way I could think how. I have set in motion the requesting of a copy of the inquest in to her death. I think that this may give me a grounding into the events surrounding how and why she died. i was unable to attend the inquest when it happened for a number of reasons.

Once I have that document I will go further in detail into the the last few months of her life as best I can through her friends and our family. Once I am prepared the real work will begin.

I just hope that what I come up with as a final document is a lasting memorial fitting enough for the sister and friend I never truly got to know.

Leave a comment