So it's 2009

Well I am a little late in posting this Happy New Year post but here it is now anyway.

I’m going to go through my New Year’s resolutions and review my 2008 and we’ll see where we go from there.

Ok, resolutions.  Well I have become vegan again after getting my health problems under control.  People have asked why?  Well it’s for the same reasons as before.  My beliefs and morals won’t allow me to support the meat industry, to kill animals to eat them, to support the dairy industry and their treatment of animals along with chickens for eggs.  And of course there is the environmental impact.

So that’s that out of the way.

My second resolution is to give up alcohol.  I did something similar last year and didn’t touch a drop for 6 months.  I intend to do the same this year.

My 2008?

Well 2008 for me focused on only a few things.

Very sadly, early in the year my step-daughters Dad passed away, so for obvious reasons it has been a hard year for all concerned.

What has made it harder is that certain parties decided to get in to a legal dispute over their late fathers estate.  I could understand the reasons initially, but it is still going on past the point of reason.  The reasons behind this are very clearly to spite my partner.  The problem is that while all this is going on legal bills are mounting and are simply taking away money from what the girls would stand to inherit.  Not only that but now the other parties are dragging the children in to it without their consent.  All in all it has become very messy and unpleasant when it need not have.  It’s time things were left to run it’s course in my opinion and let everyone involved get on with their lives.

So that, in every aspect, has made life difficult for us all.

Secondly we have moved house.  We needed somewhere bigger and here we are in a lovely four bedroom.  Everyone has settled in well and it seems like me and my partner made the right decision.

Of course it has been wonderful watching all the children grow into their potential.  Especially our eldest who won Stundent of the Year along with six other end of year awards.  We are very proud of her.  We are proud of all of them with the two middle children winning Gold Awards at the end of their year.

Then there is the youngest.  It is amazing to watch her grow.  She has learnt so many new things over the past 12 months.  Words, to walk, to get angry!  I can’t list them all, suffice to say, she is turning in to an amazing little person.

Unfortunately the year ended with my partners Grandfather becoming very ill and having to undergo brain surgery.  It just seemed like it was going to see the year out like last when my Grandmother passed away shortly before the New Year.  However, the surgery went well and there seems to be light at the end of the tunnel.  I send him my thoughts and best wishes.

That was my 2008 in a nutshell.  Ups and downs like last year.

No doubt this year will be the same in that respect, I just hope that some of the downs aren’t inflicted by malicious people as has been the case last year.

Onwards we go.

Leave a Reply

