Blade Runner: The Final Cut

Blade RunnerIt’s been many years since I watched this film on VHS.  I think back then I wasn’t old enough to appreciate or understand most of the finer plot points and as such had dismissed it in my youth.  But I was wise to give it another go when The Final Cut appeared on TV.

I love this dark vision of the future.  It doesn’t go into huge amount of detail about this version of our possible future and, I think it is fair to say, is slightly optimistic about how far we would come by 2019 in some respects.  But for a 25 year old film it doesn’t half hold up well.

The visual environment is stunning and epic in proportion.  Every scene, landscape and visual oozes quality and attention to detail.

Harrison Ford does what he does best.  He plays Harrison Ford but that doesn’t take away from the quality of the experience as a dark and foreboding  image of the future.

This story of replicants and their hunter, or Blade Runner, is as good as it ever was.  The script is delectable and as a fan of the sci-fi genre I can say that you won’t go far wrong with this.  Did I mention this is a Ridley Scott film?  No, the name alone explains most of the quality.

Deliciously dark.  Tempered and paced to perfection.

Leave a Reply

